Ducros and Ferreira Win ITA Regional Doubles Title

first_img Share Ducros and Ferreira Win ITA Regional Doubles Title ITA Regional Doubles Champions Kevin Ducros (left) and Leandro Ferreira center_img LAKELAND, Fla. – The West Florida men’s tennis team concluded play at the Wilson / ITA Regional Championships over the weekend at Florida Southern, with the Argonaut doubles team of sophomore Kevin Ducros (Aix-en-Provence) and freshman Leandro Ferreira (Sao Paulo, Brazil/Colegio Antonio Alfonso) winning the doubles title to qualify for the ITA Small College Championships on October 15-18 in Mobile, Ala.In the main draw of doubles Ducros and Ferreira kept alive their chance to win the championships as they advanced to the semifinals after a 9-8 win over Michael Kuesh and Chris Hansen from Valdosta State. The team of Gunnels and Lue fell to Daniel Dueren and Philip Pakebusch of Valdosta State in an 8-6 match in the quarterfinals.Ducros and Ferreira defeated Dueren and Pakebusch with an impressive 8-3 win in the semifinals to move to the final match. The Argonaut team was set to face the Lynn duo of Luca Pavanelli and Alex Voirin in the finals. Ducros and Ferreira defeated the team from Lynn in an 8-6 match to win the doubles title and move on to the national tournament. Ducros and Ferreira became only the second UWF duo to win the regional doubles championship since the school made a transition to Division II, following the 2001 title won by Radovan Chrz and Fernando Damus.In the main singles draw, Ducros advanced to the quarterfinals and fell to Marco Mokrzycki of Barry 6-4, 2-6, 7-5. In the singles back draw freshman Mike Lue (Richmond Hill, Ontario/St. Augustine Catholic HS) fell to Brian deMontfort from Florida Southern with a 7-5, 6-1 score. Sophomore Sean Gunnels (Mobile, Ala./Murphy HS) advanced to the semifinals of the back draw with a 6-1, 6-1 win over Aaron Kleefield from Eckerd. In the semis, Gunnels faced deMontfort, who eliminated Lue in the previous round, and defeated the Florida Southern player with 6-2, 7-6 score to advance to the final of the back draw. In the final match, Gunnels dropped a 7-5, 7-6 match to Nicolas Bigler, also from Florida Southern.In the back draw of doubles, junior Patrick Bateman (Apopka, Fla./Seminole CC) and sophomore Andrey Pozhidaev (Sochi, Russia) defeated Bigler and Duyungan from Florida Southern with an 8-4 match to move to the semifinals. Junior Leandro Schujmann (Porto Alegre, Brazil/Liberty) and sophomore Mallory Leighty (Lake City/Columbia HS) defeated Jacobs and Maclachan from Saint Leo in an 8-6 match to set an Argonaut match in the semis against Bateman and Pozhidaev. The duo of Bateman and Pozhidaev defeated Schujmann and Leighty in an 8-4 match to advance to the finals. In the finals, the Argos team fell 8-2 to Lange and Taylor of Florida Southern.The Argonauts will return to action in Mobile on October 15-18 at the ITA Small College Championships as Kevin Ducros and Leandro Ferreira will attempt to become the first Argonauts to be ITA national champions since Jens Gerlach and Matt Wallhead won the title in 1996. For more information on all UWF athletics, visit www.GoArgos.com.#ARGOS#Singles Results:Round of 128:Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. Victor Teboul (LU) 6-4, 6-4Ben Maxwell (EC) def. Sean Gunnels (UWF) 7-6, 7-6Round of 64: Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. Nicolas Bigler (FSC) 6-4, 2-6, 10-6Leandro Schujmann (UWF) def. Ray Duyungan (FSC) 6-3, 6-0Kevin Ducros (UWF) def. Luke Bolanos (PBA) 6-4, 6-0Patrick Bateman (UWF) def. Delgado Rochas (UWA) 6-4, 6-1Andrey Pozhidaev (UWF) def. Adam Hopkins (EC) 5-7, 6-1, 10-2Luca Pavanelli (LU) def. Mallory Leighty (UWF) 6-0, 6-0Nick Rowlands (RC) def. Mike Lue (UWF) 6-4, 6-3Doubles Results:Round of 32:Sean Gunnels/Mike Lue (UWF) def. Barry Dylewski/Michael Schmidt (FIT) 8-2Kevin Ducros/Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. George Laffey/Willi Wolfer (LU) defaultEmanuel Fraitzel/Max Wimmer (BU) def. Mallory Leighty/Leandro Schujman (UWF) 8-5Jonathan Hanna/Noe Losmozos (FIT) def. Andrey Pozhidaev/Patrick Bateman (UWF) 9-8Round of 32:Roman Schirmaier (FSC) def. Leandro Schujmann (UWF) 6-3, 6-2Arturo Baravalle (RC) def. Leandro Ferreira (UWF) 4-6, 7-6, 10-7Andrey Pozhidaev (UWF) def. Jakub Fejfar (BU) 6-0, 6-2Patrick Bateman (UWF) def. Girts Dzelde (RC) 6-4, 4-6, 10-7Kevin Ducros (UWF) def. Simon Raagaard (BU) 6-2, 6-2Consolation Draw: Aaron Kleefield (EC) def. Mallory Leighty (UWF) 7-5, 1-6, 10-5Sean Gunnels (UWF) def. Jeffery Hanrahan (SLU) 6-0, 6-0Mike Lue (UWF) def. Javier Castro (FSC) 6-3, 6-2Round of 16: Ales Svigelj (BU) def. Andrey Pozhidaev (UWF) 6-4, 4-6, 10-7Philip Pakebusch (VSU) def. Patrick Bateman (UWF) 6-3, 6-3Kevin Ducros (UWF) def. Arturo Baravalle (RC) 6-4, 6-2Consolation Draw:Sean Gunnels (UWF) def. Drew Hollis (FIT) 6-2, 6-1Mike Lue (UWF) def. Andrew Mulick (RC) 6-0, 6-0Quarterfinals:Marco Mokrzycki (BU) def. Kevin Ducros (UWF) 6-4, 2-6, 7-5Consolation Draw:Sean Gunnels (UWF) def. Aaron Kleefield (EC) 6-1, 6-1Brian deMontfort (FSC) def. Mike Lue (UWF) 7-5, 6-1Semifinals Consolation Draw:Sean Gunnels (UWF) def. Brian deMontfort (FSC) 6-2, 7-6Finals Consolation Draw:Nicolas Bigler (FSC) def. Sean Gunnels (UWF) 7-5, 7-6Doubles Results:Round of 32:Sean Gunnels/Mike Lue (UWF) def. Barry Dylewski/Michael Schmidt (FIT) 8-2Kevin Ducros/Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. George Laffey/Willi Wolfer (LU) defaultEmanuel Fraitzel/Max Wimmer (BU) def. Mallory Leighty/Leandro Schujmann (UWF) 8-5Jonathan Hanna/Noe Losmozos (FIT) def. Andrey Pozhidaev/Patrick Bateman (UWF) 9-8Consolation:Andrey Pozhidaev/Patrick Bateman (UWF) def. Graham Ely/Andrew Johnson (RC) 8-4Round of 16:Sean Gunnels/Mike Lue (UWF) def. Guenther Fercher/Roman Schirmaier (FSC) 9-8Kevin Ducros/Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. Jakub Fejfar/Sergio Velez (BU) 8-0Consolation: Andrey Pozhidaev/Patrick Bateman (UWF) def. Jonathon Bonner/Aaron Kleefield (EC) 8-4Mallory Leighty/Leandro Schujmann (UWF) def. Michael Calloway/Jose Morales (SLU) 8-5Quarterfinals:Kevin Ducros/Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. Christian Hansen/Michael Kuesh (UWF) 9-8Daniel Dueren/Philip Pakebusch (VSU) def. Sean Gunnels/Mike Lue (UWF) 8-6Consolation:Patrick Bateman/Andrey Pozhidaev (UWF) def. Nicolas Bigler/Ray Duyungan (FSC) 8-4Leandro Schujman/Mallory Leighty (UWF) def. Yves Jacobs/Richard Maclachan (SLU) 8-6Semifinals:Kevin Ducros/Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. Daniel Dueren/Philip Pakebusch (VSU) 8-3Consolation:Patrick Bateman/Andrey Pozhidaev (UWF) def. Leandro Schujman/Mallory Leighty (UWF) 8-4Finals:Kevin Ducros/Leandro Ferreira (UWF) def. Luca Pavanelli/Alex Voirin (LU) 8-6Consolation:Christian Lange/Ben Taylor (FSC) def. Patrick Bateman/Andrey Pozhidaev (UWF) 8-2Print Friendly Versionlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *