IPL 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders Team Profile

first_imgKolkata finished off at the seventh spot in the IPL table last season The 2012 IPL champions, Kolkata Knight Riders, failed to live up to the expectations of their fans following their seventh-place finish with a mere 12 points last season. Led by one of the finest Indian batsmen Gautam Gambhir, the team in golden blue is coached by Australian veteran Trevor Bayliss alongside the bowling mentor Brett Lee.While eyeing their second title this season, KKR bought explosive batsmen Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn and Manish Pandey alongside a heavy list of renowned bowlers during the IPL auction this year.Kolkata boasts of two of the most consistent players in the batting and bowling department. KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir was the team’s highest run-scorer with 406 runs in 16 matches last season while mystery spinner Sunil Narine bagged 22 wickets in 16 matches.The batting legend Jacques Kallis alongside Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey add to the powerful KKR top-order. Their middle-order is bolstered by Yusuf Pathan and Chris Lynn followed by all-rounders Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Andre Russell and Manvinder Bisla.With a variety in their bowling attack, KKR pose a serious threat to their oppositions. South African speedster Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Pat Cummins and Vinay Kumar form a dangerous seam-bowling attack while Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine and Piyush Chawla add to the spin-bowling of the 2012 champions.After splashing a greater amount just on the bowlers this year, Shah Rukh Khan co-owned KKR boasts of a formidable bowling attack that could very well land them another title this year.advertisementPlayers Retained(2014): Gautam Gambhir(Rs 12.5 cr) and Sunil Narine(Rs 9.5 cr).Players Bought(2014): Jacques Kallis(Rs 5.5 cr), Robin Uthappa(Rs 5 cr), Manish Pandey(Rs 1.7 cr), Chris Lynn(Rs 1.3 cr), Suryakumar Yadav(Rs 70 lakh), Yusuf Pathan(Rs 3.25 cr), Shakib Al Hasan(Rs 2.8 cr), Ryan ten Doeschate(Rs 1 cr), Andre Russell(Rs 60 lakh), Manvinder Bisla(Rs 60 lakh), Debabrata Das(Rs 20 lakh), SS Mondal(Rs 10 lakh), Piyush Chawla(Rs 4.25 cr), Kuldeep Yadav(Rs 40 lakh), Vinay Kumar(Rs 2.8 cr), Morne Morkel(Rs 2.8 cr), Umesh Yadav(Rs 2.6 cr), Pat Cummins(Rs 1 cr) and Veer Pratap Singh(Rs 40 lakh).              Squad: Gautam Gambhir(c), Jacques Kallis, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa(wk), Manish Pandey, Chris Lynn, Suryakumar Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Andre Russell, Manvinder Bisla, Debabrata Das, SS Mondal, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Pat Cummins, Veer Pratap Singhlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *